North Buchanan Boulevard

Originally part of Guess Road, North Buchanan Boulevard extended north from West Main Street; there was no South Buchanan Boulevard until the 1960s. The road was later called Guess Street (following a typical pattern of the 'in-town' portion being named ... Street, and the out of town portion ... Road.)

There are a number of Buchanans around from whom the name could derive; James Buchanan Duke is the most likely, though unconfirmed.

North Buchanan Boulevard continues into Guess Road north of West Club Blvd. However, there is a small section of N. Buchanan that exists north of I-85 as well, between 85 and Leon Street.

 

Added: Fri, 08/06/2010 - 3:52am
By: gary
Added: Thu, 08/05/2010 - 3:50am
By: gary
Added: Wed, 08/04/2010 - 3:48am
By: gary
Added: Mon, 08/02/2010 - 3:43am
By: gary
Added: Thu, 07/29/2010 - 3:37am
By: gary
Added: Wed, 07/28/2010 - 3:34am
By: gary
/sites/default/files/images/2010_7/610NBuchanan_1980.jpg
Added: Tue, 07/13/2010 - 4:04am
By: gary
Hursey_1956.jpeg
Added: Wed, 06/02/2010 - 4:51am
By: gary
/sites/default/files/images/2010_2/card2.jpg
CARD HOUSE (building)
Added: Tue, 02/23/2010 - 5:25am
By: gary
/sites/default/files/images/2010_2/erwinapts_010356.jpg
ERWIN APARTMENTS (building)
Added: Mon, 02/22/2010 - 5:12am
By: gary